My Sanctuary 

 

 

 

 

My Italian sanctuary

IMG_4838.JPG.jpeg
IMG_5351.JPG

We all have that one place where we go, and when we are in that place it seems to make everything better. A place where we feel comfortable, happy, and really truly free. In Huck Finn, Huck always escapes society by going to the river and the woods. He confides in the river to make him feel happy. A place where he can get away from everyone and just be at peace with his own thoughts3b34bb09-62b9-4291-bd42-edf95c555fac

Beach in Sirolo, Italye8053420-4589-4bac-b1b3-8d29c5591b0a

Mountain in Ussita, Italy.

55cb911e-98f7-41e1-9af2-b490392e72d2

Top of large mountain in Ussita, Italy.

For me, I have two places that I have labeled as my sanctuary. One is near and the other is far. My everyday sanctuary is my room. My room is the once place that’s truly mine. It reflects what kind of person I am, and it reflects how I live my life. I know, it seems like a lot to tell from a room, but I really believe that you can tell so much about someone by just seeing their room. The color scheme or different choices they make about organization. Anyway, the reason that my room is a place that I confide in, is because I can be alone to think and do what I want to do. I have my own personal space, and people respect that when I’m in here I want to sometimes be alone. I want to be alone to do work or just relax. But most importantly, to sleep and heal for the following day. When things get difficult or I’m having a bad day, all I think about is leaving and going to my room, the place that I feel happiest in.

A3572F9F-5931-439A-AC69-D5F724CF406E.JPG

Perugia, Italy

My second sanctuary is far away, actually, it is across the Atlantic Ocean. But it’s a place that I always return to, so in a sense it does not really seem distant at all. My sanctuary there is not a specific place, but it’s more like a few towns that collectivity make up my foreign sanctuary. These towns that are all right next to each other are places that I just love to be. Places where I feel happy because it’s such a change from the life I love everyday in Greenwich, Connecticut. It really truly feels like a second home to me when I am there, no longer does it feel so foreign. It does not feel like a place that I don’t belong, because over the years I have gotten so comfortable being there. Seeing friends and family makes it feel even more connected and happy.

Having a sanctuary in your life is something that is incredibly important. It’s amazing to have somewhere, where no matter what you will feel your absolute best emotionally. Just a place that is your escape when life gets a little difficult. If I didn’t have a sanctuary, I think things would get overwhelming and I would feel like there was no escape.

Leave a comment